A municipality is a specific geographical area defined by the Municipal Demarcation Board. All municipalities are governed by a Municipal Council. There are 3 categories of municipalities in South Africa, namely Metropolitan, District, and Local Municipalities.

Municipal councils are elected during local government elections. Municipal councillors are elected through either the Proportional Representation Ballot or a Direct Candidate Ballot. Councillors in District Councils also represent local councils in that area.

Hierarchy in a municipality

Municipal Councils have a Chairperson or Speaker, a Mayor and a Deputy Executive Mayor and a Mayoral Committee. The Municipal Administration carries out the decisions of the Municipal Council.